Award-Winning Writers | The Sun Magazine

Award-Winning Writers

January 15, 2019
Pushcart Prize XLIII The Best American Poetry 2018 The Best American Sports Writing  


The Pushcart Prize is awarded annually to the “best of the small presses.” In 2018 three writers won Pushcarts for work that appeared in The Sun:

Their works appeared in the Pushcart Prize XLIII anthology.

Tony Hoagland’s “Into the Mystery” [August 2017] and Agnieszka Tworek’s “Grief Runs Untamed” [November 2017] were selected for the 2018 Best American Poetry anthology.

Jane Bernstein’s essay “Still Running” [February 2017] and Heather Sellers’s “Pedal, Pedal, Pedal” [January 2017] were selected for the 2018 Best American Sports Writing anthology. (This is the second time we’ve been included in the anthology. You can read the first Sun essay to win this award here.)

Essays from The Sun by Brian Doyle, Eaton Hamilton, Benjamin Hertwig, Frances Lefkowitz, Colleen Mayo, Eva Saulitis, Corvin Thomas, Debbie UrbanskiYael van der Wouden, and Saint James Harris Wood were listed as notable or special mentions in the 2018 Best American Science and Nature Writing, Best American EssaysBest American Sports Writing, and Pushcart Prize XLIII anthologies.

Congratulations to the authors. If you missed their work in the magazine or want to read it again, just click the links above.

Free Trial Issue Are you ready for a closer look at The Sun?

Request a free trial, and we’ll mail you a print copy of this month’s issue. Plus you’ll get full online access — including 50 years of archives.
Request A Free Issue